Connect with us


The Chennai Super Kings – Facts, Team History, IPL 2021



Chennai Super Kings

The Thala MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings is one of the most followed and successful franchises in the premier league. The team has achieved lots of milestones in the journey of the league. CSK has participated 11 times in the league and acquired three IPL championship titles in 2010, 2011, and 2018 respectively. The franchise is Two-time winners of the Champions Twenty20 league in 2010, and 2014.

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings has a huge and loyal fan following base with the highest 26.8 million fans.

This year Super Kings start their IPL 2021 journey on April 10(Saturday) against Delhi Capitals at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

In this blog post, I will be sharing some interesting facts, team information & history, IPL 2021 Squad & a Match Schedule of CSK.


1. CSK is the only franchise in the league captained by the same captain in all its season. CSK played its all 11 seasons under the ‘Captain Cool MS Dhoni’.

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni

2. MS Dhoni-led CSK has clinched the most number of fair play awards among all franchises. The franchise has acquired the award 6 times- in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013,2014, and 2015. Because CSK carries the team and players calmly and plays in the spirit of the game.

3. The first team to win all home matches in only an edition of the league is The Chennai Super Kings. In the 2011 season of IPL, the franchise won all Home matches at M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

4. CSK has an impressive and the highest win percentage among all the franchises. In the league, CSK has played 179 matches and won 106 matches with a percentage of 59.83.

5. Chennai Super Kings was the only team to qualify it to playoffs in its every season till Last season(IPL 2020). The franchise failed to make it to playoffs in the last season. It was heart-breaking for all the CSK fans.

Also, the franchise has the record of reaching most times in the IPL final, it has appeared 8 times in the IPL final.

Chennai Super Kings team information

Chennai-based The Chennai Super Kings were founded in 2008, owned by N. Shrinivasan, India cements. The team is captained by MS Dhoni throughout all its journey in the league. The Chennai Cricket franchise is coached by Stephen Fleming. CSK plays its home matches in M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai (Capacity-50,000).

CSK is the second most expensive team in the league after Mumbai Indians. The estimated brand value of the team is around $104 million (roughly 732 crores).


SEVEN, a brand by MS Dhoni is kit manufacturers of Chennai Super Kings. Since 2008, The Muthoot group and Myntra are Jersey chest sponsors of CSK. And Jersey’s back sponsor is Indian Cement since the team was formed in 2008. The Super Kings has some other partnership deals with many companies like Gulf, Equitas small finance bank ltd., BKT industries, Gulf Lubricants, ASAP, Clear, Dream11, Nippon paint, British Empire, and many.

Chennai Super Kings IPL history

In 2008, the first auction of the Indian premier league, CSK purchased several star cricketers including Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Muttiah Muralitharan, Michael Hussey, and Stephen Fleming(Current Coach of The franchise). The Super Kings bought MS Dhoni in a total sum of $1.5 million at auction. He was the costliest player at the 2008 auction.

Chennai Super Kings - MS Dhoni

Chennai Super Kings – MS Dhoni

CSK secured the third position on the points table with 8 wins out of 14 matches in IPL 2008.

In 2009, CSK’s hopes to enter in Finals were crushed by Royal challengers Bangalore and CSK ranked second in the league.

In 2010, it was a tough beginning for Chennai Super Kings. But in the second half, CSK came up again and clinched their first-ever IPL title after beating Mumbai Indians in IPL 3(2010).

CSK also became champions of CLT20 in 2010, became the first IPL team to do so.

Woo hoo! Chennai Super Kings retained their IPL title by smashing Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2011. The franchise became the first team to win the IPL title continuously twice.

In 2012 and 2013, CSK reached the finals. But Kolkata knight Riders and Mumbai Indians respectively stopped them to reach the trophy.

After continuous 5 years of qualifying for the finals, CSK failed to reach the finals in IPL 2014. But the franchise had a great season in CLT20 and attained their second CLT20 title.

Once again, In 2015, Mumbai Indians prevented CSK to win their third IPL title. Boom! RM Lodha Committee suspended Chennai Super Kings along with Rajasthan Royals for 2 seasons. So CSK and RR franchises did not participate in IPL 2016, IPL 2017.

The two franchise officials Gurunath Meiyappan(Son-in-law of Owner of CSK) and Raj Kundra(Owner of RR) were proven guilty of betting so they were also banned for five years.

In the comeback season, IPL 2018, The Super Kings franchise won their third IPL title despite being banned for 2 years.

In IPL 2019, CSK reached the finals but lost its title again to Mumbai Indians. IPL 2020, Ugh! It was the worst season for the team. CSK couldn’t qualify in the playoffs for the first time. And now we’re eagerly waiting to watch CSK’s performance in IPL 2021.

Chennai Super Kings Squad 2021

CSK Squad- MS Dhoni (c&wk), Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N. Jagadeesan (wk), Robin Uthappa, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, R. Sai Kishore, Mitchell Santner, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Josh Hazlewood, KM Asif.

New buys– Moeen Ali, K Gowtham, Cheteshwar Pujara, M Harisankar Reddy, K. Bhagath Varma, C Hari Nishanth.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *