Connect with us


All about the 11 Green List Countries: A Quick read before visiting UK



Green List Countries

If you are planning to travel to UK then we suggest you to go through the article and know about the Green list countries.

The United Kingdom implemented a system that is similar to that of a traffic light for international travel depending on the COVID situation in several nations.

The system was implemented on 17 May and will get reviewed every three weeks. Portugal was lowered down to the amber list from the Green List Countries after the first assessment on 3 June, casting uncertainty on vacation plans for several vacationers.

Visitors from Portugal following 4 a.m. on 8 June must self-quarantine themselves for ten days and submit their 2 COVID-19 tests after that.
With the removal of the Atlantic country removed off the Green List Countries list, just 11 territories remain on the “safe” list, which poses a lesser danger of Coronavirus intrusion into the region.

Which are the updated Green List Countries?

As of now only 11 countries remain on the green list. These include the following:

  • Singapore
  • New Zealand
  • Gibraltar
  • Israel
  • Australia
  • Iceland
  • Falkland Islands
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Brunei
  • St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island

Scotland’s Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon immediately jumped on board early Monday Morning, declaring that the country will use the same traffic signal scheme.
Besides that, Wales Chief Minister Mark Drakeford also confirmed on Thursday that Wales will follow the same regulations as Scotland and England.
Ireland has likewise been sticking to the very same
Green List Countries system from Monday 24 May. None of the UK nations have published any June updates as of yet.

Three Different Types of Lists and What They Mean

Green List: Individuals coming from a nation on this list will not be needed to quarantined and will be allowed to take only one COVID-19 test, two days after their arrival in the UK.
Australia, Israel, Gibraltar, Singapore, New Zealand, Brunei, the Faroe Islands, and Iceland are included in the list, as are other minor isolated British Overseas Territories.

Portugal was the sole big European tourist destination in this category for a few weeks before being demoted to amber. Gibraltar would not require visitors from the United Kingdom to be checked or vaccinated.
As per the records, Israel first restored its frontier only to gatherings of international visitors who had had been fully vaccinated.
According to the early June assessment, no new nations have been added to the initial
Green List Countries.

Amber List: These include the most popular holiday locations in the United Kingdom, including  France, Spain, Greece, and Italy.
According to Department For Transport, individuals “should never be going to these locations at the moment.” Those who disregard such instruction must submit their two post-arrival exams administered by private businesses on the 2nd and 8th day following their arrival.

Furthermore, they must self-isolate at home for ten days, however, this period might get reduced if they take another such negative test on the 5th day.
Also UK citizens are permitted to enter Spain without submitting to a false PCR test, given the nation remains on the UK’s amber list.
Germany is indeed on the amber list, however owing to the Delta variant of coronavirus, passengers from the UK will be accepted only if they are legal residents – or if they have a critical medical cause. 

Red List: South Africa, Brazil, the United Arab Emirates, and India are some of the nations on the red list.
Those coming from a nation on the red list must remain for 11 nights in a public sector quarantine hotel for £1,770.

Green List Countries

Green List Countries

Which nations are candidates for inclusion on the Green List Countries?

Boris Johnson has indicated that quite a few nations might get included in the green list countries system within the coming weeks of assessment, according to The Telegraph.
He allegedly made the statements during a meeting of the Conservatives crossbench panel in 1922, implying that “near misses” that were almost green earlier would certainly qualify this time around.

Finland, the British Virgin Islands, St Kitts, Cayman Islands, Antigua, Barbuda, Turks, Caicos, Malta, Grenada, Fiji, and Nevis are also believed to be contenders for the Green List Countries

Another indicator of new additions is the Foreign Office’s (FCDO) advising webpage. The FCDO has issued a blanket recommendation against those non-essential travel, from which a few places have been exempted. Obviously, the majority of countries on the green list category are exempt; but, several countries on the amber list are also exempt, notably islands that are doing well than their continental equivalents.

The Canary Islands are located in Spain; the Grecian islands of Naxos, Corfu are located in Greece; and Malta is located in Maltese. According to the FCDO, the alert has been lifted “based on the current evaluation of Covid-19 hazards,” which might suggest that these destinations fulfil the requirements to transform from amber to green status in July.

What limitations apply to travellers returning from Green List Countries?

Green nations have the fewest limitations on returning visitors: they must get a negative COVID-19 test result before traveling to the UK and then submit to a PCR test between two days of arrival. There is no requirement for quarantine.

Green List Countries

Green List Countries



We at Robust Story believe that with the upscaling of the global vaccination drive , these travel restrictions would get removed with the eradication of coronavirus.
Also don’t forget to comment down the places you would like to visit once the travel restrictions get removed!



Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *